Konjac | E425

Konjac is a glucomannan derived from a plant of the genus Amorphophallus. The plant is native to warm subtropical to tropical eastern Asia, Japan, China, and Indonesia.

Konjac is extracted from the corm, the tubular underground part of the plant. The dried corm of the konjac plant contains around 40% glucomannan gum. This polysaccharide makes konjac jelly highly viscous and may be responsible for many of its putative health benefits as used in traditional Chinese medicine, detoxification, tumour-suppression, blood stasis alleviation and phlegm liquefaction.

Konjac has almost no calories but is very high in fiber. Thus, it is often used as a diet food.

Functionality in Food

Konjac is used as a thickener.

Applications

Konjac is used as a vegan replacement for gelatin. It is often used in jelly candies. There are also noodles made out of konjac, named shirataki.

E-number

E425

Konjac gum (E 425 i) and konjac glucomannan (E 425 ii)5 are authorised as food additives in the EU in accordance with Annex II and Annex III to Regulation (EC) No 1333/2008 on food additives and specific purity criteria have been defined in the Commission Regulation (EU) No 231/20126.

Click here to find suppliers of konjac.

To read more: wikipedia


Was This Post Helpful:

0 votes, 0 avg. rating

Share:

Ria Van Hoef

Leave a Comment